Are Mormons Christians?

christ-calling-peter-andrew-harwood-83107-mobileThis is a question that I hear occasionally, and am always glad when friends ask me. I think the reason this question comes up is that members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are often referred to as “Mormon.” That “nickname” comes from The Book of Mormon (and quite frankly it’s usually easier to say than the longer, formal name of the Church).

As the official name of the Church suggests, we do consider ourselves Christians. I am a disciple of Jesus Christ and was baptized in His name. We believe in the same Christ that was born in a stable in Bethlehem, the same Christ who raised the dead, healed the sick, and ministered to the poor. The same Christ gave his life for my sins and all of God’s children, and rose on Easter Morning. It is that same living Christ that I look to for salvation, hope and direction.

One of the questions I had when learning about the church was why I never saw a cross in Mormon church buildings. I came to understand that it is because Mormons focus on Christ as a resurrected Being, and it is Him that we worship. This is His church, and it bears his name.

Leave a comment