Are we looking at others through dirty glasses?

“Judge not, that ye be not judged.” Matthew 7:1

I have bad eyesight. Like horribly bad. As it turns out, so do three of my four boys. We haven’t had our youngest tested yet, but I’m certain he’ll prove to take after his dad. My wife, on the other hand, has perfect vision.

One of my sons, while inheriting my poor eyesight, doesn’t share my appreciation for clean glasses. Seriously, if I didn’t make him clean his glasses every morning before school, they’d NEVER get cleaned. I honestly have no idea how the kid sees where he’s going. More importantly, I wonder what his world looks like through dirty lenses intended to improve his vision.

Christ said “Judge not. Why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?” In relation to my story, how can we see others the same way God sees them if the glasses through which we’re looking aren’t clean?

Thomas S. Monson, President of the Church, said, “None of us is perfect. I know of no one who would profess to be so. And yet for some reason, despite our own imperfections, we have a tendency to point out those of others. We make judgments concerning their actions or inactions. There is really no way we can know the heart, the intentions, or the circumstances of someone who might say or do something we find reason to criticize.” 

Simple as that. Don’t judge others. Clean our glasses. Try to see them as Heavenly Father and the Savior would see them. I wish I could say I have never judged others, but that’d be a big lie. I’m grateful, however, for the Gospel of Jesus Christ which helps me learn to be less judgmental and be more charitable toward others. As I strive to “clean my own glasses,” I know that Christ helps me see others differently. Please take a moment to watch the humorous video below which tells the story of Lisa and John, and how cleaning their windows helped them see their neighbor in a whole new light. 

Leave a Reply

